After a reprieve amid the coronavirus pandemic, evictions and lockouts for non-payment of rent have begun in Nevada again.
Here’s what you need to know
When do they start?
June 25: For people in transient housing including hotels and motels, the removal process has already started.
July 1: Commercial landlords can begin eviction proceedings for nonpayment of rent. Lockouts for nonpayment of rent can also be done starting July 1. Evictions can start for residential tenants who were given a formal eviction notice prior to March 30 only if the property was foreclosed or sold.
Aug. 1: Residential tenants can be evicted if the process started prior to March 30. Residential evictions can begin for things other than nonpayment including waste, operating an unlawful business, nuisance, violating controlled substance laws and violating lease condition, other than nonpayment of rent. Also, if your lease has expired on Aug. 1 you can be evicted, but a landlord cannot use this date for eviction if it is solely for nonpayment.
Sept. 1: Residential tenants can be evicted for nonpayment of rent included what may be back owed to a landlord. Residential mortgages can also begin to be foreclosed upon.
How much will you owe in late fees and penalties?
- No late fees: All rent is still due from previous months, but late fees and penalties are prohibited through Aug. 31. Late fees and penalties prior to March 30 can still be charged.
- July 1: For commercial tenancies and mortgages, landlords and lenders can charge late fees.
- Sept. 1: Late fees and penalties can begin again on for residential tenants.
- Lease is up: If you move out of your property because your lease is up, back rent is still due.
Relief funds: Nevada will receive $50 million in federal Coronavirus Relief Funds to launch a rental relief fund for residential and commercial properties. Of the $50 million, $30 million is earmarked to help with residential rental assistance. Details on how to apply are expected to be released in this month but the state has not provided additional information on who may qualify or how the application process will work.
Payment plans: While there is no mandate to do so, the state has encouraged tenants and landlords to work out payment plans including signing lease addendums and promissory notes, which are legally binding. The state recommended that a payment plan be set up for 15 percent of the monthly rent payment.
Complaints: A formal complaint for tenants and landlords can be filed at ag.nv.gov.
Legal help: Eviction moratorium discussion with Nevada Legal Services is at noon July 7 on Facebook.com/NevadaLegalService/Live. To contact Nevada Legal Services, call 775-284-3491
Siobhan McAndrew tells stories about the people of Northern Nevada and covers education in Washoe County. Read her journalism right here. Consider supporting her work by subscribing to the Reno Gazette Journal.